Serenade for Strings: Orchestra of the Swan

Tell a friend:

29th October 2012 - 7.30pm

Venue: Loughborough Town Hall

An evening of four masterworks performed by Orchestra of the Swan

Orchestra of the Swan returns to Loughborough with our ‘Serenade for Strings’ programme with serenades by Mozart and Tchaikovsky complementing 20th century masterpieces by Bartok and Britten.

Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
Britten: Simple Symphony
Bartok: Romanian Dances
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings

The programme includes Mozart’s most well-known serenade, Eine kleine Nachtmusik, complemented by his most ardent admirer Tchaikovsky’s beautiful and equally ‘classical’ Serenade for Strings.  Much closer to the graceful world of his ballet scores than his symphonies, this is a delightful work which combines virtuosity and elegance.

Bartok’s Romanian Dances are imbued with the fiery folk music of their origin and Britten’s somewhat mistitled ‘Simple Symphony’, remind us of his consummate skill in composing for string orchestra.

David Curtis: conductor

PRE & POST SHOW TALKS in the Sock Gallery

  • What's the Score?  Pre-concert talk 6.30pm-7pm
  • Conversation Club  Post show chat with conductor and players
Loughborough Town Hall Events September 2021